PART TWO / PROJECTS 1, 2: HONING IN

ASSIGNMENT 2

EXPERIMENTAL PIECES FROM POSTMODERNIST
ART STUDY: REFLECTIONS FROM PROJECTS 1 & 2

NOTES ON IMAGES ABOVE

1. Sample of the initial charcoal sketches based on photos collected for research.

2. An image created in photoshop from some of the initial sketches. Interesting possibilities for this to be worked on in variety of media but, as yet, I haven’t taken this any further.

3. Charcoal drawing on 45 x60 cms. paper. A loose, pretty abstract image of ambiguous forms suggestive of a battle scarred environment.

4. Simplification of an earlier colour sketch in pastel and chalk on tinted paper.

5. One of the final images and slight development/variation from previous versions.
oils on canvas board.

6. The final image I worked on with oils and pastels. An attempt to make the work more lively with more spontaneous mark making which some of the earlier work achieved.

I chose these 6 images because I felt, they were not only developmental, but more experimental than some of the other pieces.

CONTEXTURAL RESEARCH

For full contextural research for Assignment 2 click on the following links

Project 1 Project 2

SAMPLE PAGES FROM SKETCH BOOK

Various explorations based on the theme for practical research.

REFLECTION

I found working through the context of a theme helpful and gave me a good focus for experimentation. From the material I have collected and the work done, there is the potential to explore further after this assignment is complete. I think some of the work would be interesting to explore further through printmaking techniques.

While experimenting I wasn’t so concerned about working in the style of any particular artist, though Kiefer and Kentridge, whose work I looked at through the textural research, was in my mind. I didn’t want to think too much but wanted to work more intuitively and be open for a few surprises.

I still have the tendancy to want to think more about the end result, the composition, at the expense of exploring the media further. In some of the sketchbook pages there is more interest than in some of the more completed efforts. I was working small because I knew I could get the work done more quickly. I think it would be helpful to work on a larger scale with some of the texture and material interest I find in artists like Rauschenburg and Kiefer.

Leave a Reply

